Foodie Friday: Recipe Reveal

Happy Friday to you all! I am so excited about today’s recipe, but first, a little background information. In all my blog reading last year, I came across this wonderful foodie blog called Orangette by Molly Wizenberg and immediately added it to my weekly rotation. It just so happens that she published a book, A Homemade Life, in 2009, and I just happened to have purchased said book last year without even making the connection!! I’m about halfway through the book (I hate to read, I know that’s terrible but I do…even when I love the book) and the recipes in the book are to die for! Here’s a wonderful description from Amazon.com:

In A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table, Molly Wizenberg recounts a life with the kitchen at its center. From her mother’s pound cake, a staple of summer picnics during her childhood in Oklahoma, to the eggs she cooked for her father during the weeks before his death, food and memories are intimately entwined. You won’t be able to decide whether to curl up and sink into the story or to head straight to the market to fill your basket with ingredients for Cider-Glazed Salmon and Pistachio Cake with Honeyed Apricots.

I truly love this book and encourage you all to go and get it…now:) Okay so one of the recipes from her blog that caught my eye and my stomach’s eye is the Pasta with Fried Prosciutto, Parmesan, and Butter recipe. I know what you’re probably thinking…it doesn’t sound very challenging. Well, for me, some of the very best recipes that I had tried and loved are some of the simplest with the smallest amount of ingredients, but its the symphony of ingredients and the simple directions that lead to a truly yummy meal. Don’t get me wrong, I am always up for a challenge, but let’s get real…who in the WORLD has time to come home from a full day’s work to cook at 20 ingredient meal that calls for items NOT found at your local super market. In my mind, those are the once-a-month-just-to-be-adventurous kind of meals. Don’t worry, Foodie Fridays will feature a couple of those, but mostly I am looking for the simple and delicious. Okay, okay…enough intro…on to the recipe:


Pasta with Fried Prosciutto, Parmesan, and Butter
Adapted from Giuliano Hazan’s Thirty Minute Pasta

4 oz. prosciutto, sliced 1/8 inch thick
4 Tbsp. unsalted butter
Kosher salt
About 4 ounces dried pasta, preferably egg tagliatelle
Freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

Fill a deep pot with water for the pasta. Salt the water well. Place over high heat, and bring to a boil.

Cut the prosciutto into narrow strips – about ¼ to ½ inch wide – and then cut the strips into short segments, each about 1 inch long. Warm the butter in a 10-inch skillet over medium heat. When the butter has melted, add the prosciutto, and season with a tiny pinch of kosher salt. Cook until the prosciutto has lost its raw color, but not long enough for it to brown, about 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from the heat.

When the water boils, cook the pasta until it is al dente. Drain it – but not too thoroughly; you want the noodles to still be coated with some moisture – and turn it into the skillet with the prosciutto. Toss. Grate a little Parmigiano-Reggiano on top, and toss again. Serve immediately, with more Parmigiano-Reggiano to taste.

Yield: 4 servings

So…who’s going to join me and make this over the next couple days?? Let me know if you liked it…what challenges? any ingredient substitutions or additions? Come on, ya’ll, let’s eat!

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Recipe Reveal

  1. Denise

    Have the same book and have had her in my blog-reading rotation ever since. Haven’t tried that recipe but the one for tuna is fab!!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: One cannot think well, love well, sleep well… | UglySpot Studio

Leave a Comment

