Pay It Forward: February 2011

“The value of a man resides in what he gives and not in what he is capable of receiving.”
– Albert Einstein

Happy February to you all! February is one of my most favorite months…it’s short and sweet:) Not only is February the LOVE month, it also kicks off one of my most favorite after-school activities of the year…Girls on the Run!!

What is Girls on the Run (GOTR)??
GOTR defined:
“Girls on the Run is a life-changing, non-profit prevention program for girls in the 3rd through 8th grade. Our mission is “to educate and prepare girls for a lifetime of self-respect and healthy living.”

“Girls on the Run combines training for a 5K (3.1 miles) running race with healthy living education. Our programs instill self-esteem and strong values through health education, life skills development, mentoring relationships, and physical training – all of which are accomplished through an active collaboration with girls and their parents, schools, volunteers, staff, and the community.”

Click here to visit the GOTR Web site

This program is dear to my heart for many reasons, one of the biggest is as a young girl, I suffered from extremely LOW self-esteem. I was made to feel that I would NEVER be cool enough to be included in the small group of girls at my TINY elementary school. I have my diaries from elementary and middle school and ya’ll…those things would break your heart.


I had buck-teeth and freckles and we lived in a trailer…so all things considered, I guess I didn’t really fit the “mold” of a cool kid, but man do I wish this program was around when I was younger. To be able to address, head-on, the emotional and developmental issues that all young girls face, just gives them (in my opinion) a sense of worth and self-confidence that grows them to be better members of society and better women in this world.

Our school team, which I coach, starts meeting NEXT week and I am STOKED:) So for this Pay it Forward month, I am challenging you to get involved. There are so many schools and teams around the Charlotte and Upper Palmetto area that could use volunteers…DUDES can volunteer too!! If you can’t commit the time, GOTR also has committees for development, events (like the big 5K run in May) and more, so if you are interested, please email Jessica Otto at the GOTR office here in Charlotte.

Girls on the Run is a registered non-profit, so they also need donations. These donations are used for program development as well as for financial scholarships for any girls in need. Click here for more information on donations.

Girls on the Run is SO much Fun!! Here’s a video to show you JUST how much fun it really is:

Leave a Comment

