Foodie Friday | A Marshmallow a Day…

Valentine’s Day is right around the corner and I’ve got something really fun up my sleeve for my Valentine’s craft this year. I can’t reveal until Monday but I thought I would give a little hint with today’s Foodie Friday recipe.

Have you ever made homemade marshmallows? I’ve heard it’s really messy, but I think I’m up for the challenge. Are you?! So in my web-searching for a fairly simple marshmallow recipe, I stumbled upon a GEM of a blog/website called Smitten Kitchen. Her recipes are amazing and her photography is sweet too! Well I loved her write-up on her homemade-marshmallow-venture and the difficulties she had… “entangled in a web of marshmallow strings”. Here are some of her beautifully messy and amazing marshmallow pictures:

{Credit: Smitten Kitchen}

From there I continued my search for a little easier/smaller recipe…Smitten’s recipe yields 96 one-inch mallows and um…My hips, nor I, need that many marshmallows:) So then I consulted the Queen of all things Home-y…Martha Stewart.

Her recipe yields about 40 marshmallows…a more manageable number:) You can cut these bad boys into any shape you want so just in time for V-day. Try cutting some cute heart-shaped marshmallow goodness for the ones you love! Here are the ingredients needed for Martha’s Homemade Marshmallows:

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons unflavored gelatin
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons pure vanilla extract
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Click the image to download this week’s recipe card. Enjoy and make a marshmallow-mess!!

One thought on “Foodie Friday | A Marshmallow a Day…

  1. Merissa

    I’ve never made “home made” marshmallows. I so want to try this. I’d use it in hot chocolate as well as in my coffee 🙂 They’d make good gifts too 🙂 Have a good weekend and a happy Valentines!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Comment

