Foodie Friday | Slaw Down and Smell the Daffodils

I would say Happy Friday, but waking up to the devastating news of the earthquake and tsunami in Japan, it just feels wrong. My prayers are with the families that lost friends and family in this tragic disaster. You can see the latest on the tsunami and the after effects here.

So in an effort to lighten and brighten your Friday today, I’ve been noticing some beautiful colors popping up in our yard over in Rock Hill…our yellow daffodils have finally sprouted up! For the last three years, that has been our sign that spring is indeed JUST around the corner. When I think of spring-type foods, I immediately think of clean, crisp, simple flavors so this week, I am featuring a few different slaw recipes for you to try this season:

Cucumber Jicama Slaw via Martha Stewart – Click for Recipe

Ramen Coleslaw via AllRecipes.com – Click for Recipe

For my friends who speak “Vegan-ese” Here is a YUMMY
Seedy Tahini Vegan Slaw via Healthy Happy Life

and finally my favorite featured slaw courtesy of my chef brother-in-law, Aaron Masanotti…

his FAMOUS (well, famous to me) Apple Cabbage Slaw

{source}

Apple Cabbage Slaw

Ingredients

2 granny smith apples, peeled and julienned
1-1/2 tbsp. red wine vinegar
1/3 cup mayonnaise
1/2 tsp. allspice
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
salt & pepper to taste

Directions

Combine all in a bowl, refrigerate up to an hour

Enjoy!!

One thought on “Foodie Friday | Slaw Down and Smell the Daffodils

Leave a Comment

