Doughnuts…Is there anything they can’t do?

Homer Simpson is brilliant:)

Last year the world was taken over by the obsession with CUPCAKES. Little tiny cakes packed full of deliciousness. I still contend that my friend Nicole, who gave up on the blogging world awhile ago, is the ALL-TIME BEST at making homemade cupcakes. Her specialties (and my favs) were Chocolate Peanut Butter filled with a Chocolate Ganache icing, White Chocolate Wasabi with a Plum Filling (only made it once, but it is still MY fav) and the Mint Creme Filled with a Raspberry Mousse-like icing…

Oh man, I might have to convince her to make them again because this girl is CRAVING them for sure now…

ANYWAY…

I think 2011 is the year of the Doughnut! I fully expect to see little boutique doughnut shops to start popping up all over the country. The other day on Twitter, someone mentioned The Doughnut Vault (opened recently!). I googled them, of course, and this is what I found:

{source}

HOW cute is this place?! It gets better…

{source}

{source}

and the goods…

{source}

{source}

So if you are in the Chicago area, keep checking The Doughnut Vault’s website to see when they officially open and LET ME KNOW, so that I can go ahead and start planning a trip to visit this place. Doesn’t it look AMAZING?!

update: I just saw they they have officially opened…so now…WHO WANTS TO GO TO CHICAGO?!

Do you know of any cute doughnut shops opening in your town/city? Share the info…

If you LOVE doughnuts and want to learn how to make them at home, check out the beautiful recipes from Lara Ferroni or better yet, go pick up her book, Doughnuts: Simple and Delicious Recipes to Make at Home, at your nearest bookstore…like I mentioned yesterday, you might run into me and Jay back in the magazines.

Happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Doughnuts…Is there anything they can’t do?

  1. Lorean S

    Let’s go to Chicago!! but only when its warm. I can’t handle that cold! And we HAVE to go to this donut shop. I still love a delicious cupcake too 🙂
    Oh and I am loving all your blogging lately!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jessica Masanotti Post author

      YES!! Let’s go for real and yes on the warm thing…Chicago in January was not so fun:) Thanks lady!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

