Ode to Michael Scott

 

via

The time has come…tonight is officially Steve Carell’s last episode of The Office as the belovedly awkward branch manager, Michael Scott. I started watching this show a little late in the game. We actually didn’t watch it until a couple seasons in, but believe me, I caught up very quickly. A quick shoutout to our friends, The Godshalls, who actually got us to start watching it…thank you for that!

Tonight’s episode is an extended one and I am super excited but also super sad…it truly is an end of an era. I’m not quite sure we will watch it after M.Scott leaves. I’m of the mindset that you shouldn’t mess up a good thing and I think continuing the show after Steve Carell leaves is probably not going to be great, but…I mean, nobody asked me, so…we will see.

via

One of the biggest reasons I love this show is the shear awkwardness. There are so many cringe-worthy moments, the only thing you can do is to laugh the tension off. I think that is one of the shows biggest successes and I think that is due in large part to Steve Carell. In the midst of the hilariously awkward moments, the show has managed to tug on the tear ducts with a few events like Pam & Jim’s engagement, wedding, finding out the were pregnant and my favorite one as of late, Michael & Holly’s engagement. This is one of the very few shows that can successfully make you laugh and cry at the same time.

The show made us all laugh, cry, cringe and anticipate what’s next for seven glorious seasons and tonight we say goodbye. So today’s post is dedicated to the man…enjoy:

“A good manager doesn’t fire people…He hires and inspires people. And people will never go out of business.”

 

“People I respect… heroes of mine would be, Bob Hope. Umm, Abraham Lincoln definitely. Bono… and probably God would be the fourth one. And I just think, all those people helped, the world in so many ways that it’s umm really beyond words. It’s incalcucable.”

“Today I did something stupid. I questioned myself, and I will never do that again. Because I look at somebody like Jim Halpert and I think, that guy can do anything he wants to do. He could, do anything. And he choses to work here, selling paper, just like me.”

“Welcome children of the Scranton industrial park community! Join your gangster pumpkin on his pallet truck of doom!”

“I’ve always wanted to be in the witness protection program. Fresh start. No debts, no baggage. Already got my name picked out. Lord Rupert Everton. I am, uh, shipping merchant who raises fancy dogs. That’s the life.”

“See that. Mission accomplished. Like a bunch of fourth graders. Sometimes what brings the kids together is hating the lunchlady. Although that’ll change, because by the end of the fourth grade the lunchlady was actually the person I hung out with the most.”

I’ll leave you with this from last week’s episode…

Leave a Comment

