Backlog…Foodie Friday, Mother’s Day & More!

It is officially the end of what I’ve dubbed “The MOST Busiest of my Entire Year and It’s Only MAY” week! I have two major events at school, Girls on the Run Awards and my GOTR team’s season culminating party AND the 5k race this morning. To top it all off, it is Mother’s Day weekend! What a sweet way to end this crazy week. Jay and I will head down to the wonderful town of Blythewood, SC to visit and celebrate my mother and grandmothers.

I apologize for missing yesterday’s Foodie Friday and for being a little MIA this week, I’ll do better next week…hopefully:) Today I wanted to dedicate this post to my mother. My mom and dad have the sweetest marriage. They just happen to be two of my most favorite people in the world and they are HILARIOUS. I wish you all could meet them because they will make you smile and most likely have you rolling with the greatest “pee-your-pants” laughter you’ve ever experienced.

My mom is the most beautiful woman I know. She is firm and sensitive, funny and sweet…she is loving and fiercely loyal. She had me at a young age and was and is one of the MOST servant-hearted women I’ve ever met. She ALWAYS put others before herself. She is hilarious when it comes to shopping. She’s getting better, but she is one of those…”well it’s on sale, so I must buy 5 of them” kind of shoppers. She is secretly creative and has so many skills…of which gardening is NOT one:) She is a wonderful cook and loves to play games, watch (or fall asleep during) movies, loves to dance (my mom LOVES some hip hop) and is seriously the most generous person I know. I love her for all her good, all her bad and for every freckle on her face. I take a huge, huge amount of pride when family and friends tell me how much I am like her, because if I had my choice of mentors and influences, she would be my pick.

I can only hope that some day soon I can be a mother so that my mom can be the AMAZING grandmother I know she will and wants to be. She is super special and today, tomorrow and everyday I am thankful that she is mine.

My mother…Myra Branham Boulware

 

told you she's got mad skills

 

thank God for freckles

my family...this is what we do

 

she dyed my hair pink...looks pretty proud about it too...

I can’t leave you hanging with NO Foodie Friday recipe…so I’ll leave you with a quick, simple recipe that my MOM made me all through high school:

Myra’s Breakfast Burrito

2 Eggs
1 Tortilla (I used whole wheat tortillas)
Shredded Cheddar Cheese
Salt & Pepper
Bacon (cooked and crumbled)
Mayonnaise (DUKE’s…DUH!)

1. Scramble the eggs in a skillet over med-high heat.
2. When cooked through, sprinkle cheese and bacon on top.
3. Heat tortilla (covered) in microwave for 10-15 seconds to soften it up.
4. Spread mayo down the middle of tortilla (about a tablespoon worth)
4. Place egg mixture on mayo and roll tortilla like a burrito

Delicious! So if you hate mayo, you can use your favorite salsa…and if you’re feeling really sassy, throw some onions and green peppers into the egg mixture with the cheese and bacon. That’s the way we do in the COUNTRY…:)

Have a great mother’s day weekend!!

 

One thought on “Backlog…Foodie Friday, Mother’s Day & More!

  1. Charlene Davis

    Hey Jess! I absolutely love this and I couldn’t agree more! You all are so special to the Davis’!!! We love you!

    And Happy potential Mother’s Day! You will make the best mom one day!!! I love you and I’ll see you tomorrow!

    Charlene

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Comment

