Thoughts…Time to DeStress

Tension is who you think you should be. Relaxation is who you are.

~Chinese Proverb

 

lake lure

Wednesdays are usually rough days for me. Middle of the week, my to-do list is usually not even CLOSE to being done…in fact, most cases, it has grown exponentially in just 3 days.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about stress and how it effects and infiltrates every area of your life. I am usually good about compartmentalizing my life…leaving work at work and drawing boundaries…but stress is one of those things that you can’t keep in a box. Or at least I can’t.

 

Stress is nothing more than a socially acceptable form of mental illness.

~Richard Carlson

I thought for today, I would share some ways that I try to DeStress (and it usually begins on Wednesdays)

 

don't lose yourself to stress!

1: Be Present in the Now
Ground yourself in the day-to-day. Be present in work, in play, in conversation. The worst feeling is when you are driving home from work and you can barely remember what you did or the people you talked to that day…most of the time, it’s because your thinking over, worrying over, stressing over the future…even if it’s the next day. I find that I feel more fulfilled when I am intentional in the moment.

2: Don’t Worry About the Things You Can’t Fix or Change
I know this seems like a no-brainer, but often times, we find ourselves consumed by worry and stress over big deal things that even in our strongest moment we would be unable to change. For instance…personal example…I could try to force the issue of getting pregnant, but even if we tried IVF or adoption or any other method there is STILL a chance it won’t work out…there is absolutely NOTHING I can do to MAKE it happen.

3: Weigh the Fear Factor
I don’t know at what point my outlook on life and people changed, but I have discovered that I have become more and more afraid. Blame it on too many Law & Order or CSI episodes, but in college, I would walk all over Downtown Columbia without the slightest fear and now, even in my own suburbia home, I find myself locking doors, shutting blinds and setting the alarm ALL the time. This one is a daily struggle and major area of stress for me, but like the thought above, I can’t know what is going to happen in the future, so even on my most cautious day, I still may not be able to prevent tragedy. I try to think of probability. To differentiate between fears and reality will help set your mind right and hopefully quench the stress that may consume you.

summer grillin' is a perfect DeStresser

4: Eat and Eat Right
Most of the time, when I find myself stressed, I do one of two things. I either bing eat where you would pull back a nub trying to stop me from buying a whole pack of oreos and eating them OR I forget to eat all together. I really love food. I have a deep appreciation for all things culinary and truly love to eat all kinds of food. So, a way I help myself DeStress is to eat something really good and really healthy. I almost instantly feel better in my mind and in my body. For the love of Pete, do not forget to eat…adding hunger to stress is a BAD combination.

5: Surround Yourself with People You Love…and LAUGH a lot
A tried and true way to DeStress is to surround yourself with your loved ones…sometimes it’s just my husband with his unconditional love for me, sometimes it’s my family who would take a bullet for me and sometimes it requires some major “girl time”. My favorite “girl time” is with my closest friends…meeting at Starbucks, playing hooky for an all-day movie marathon or for an excursion to the Flying Biscuit on an early Saturday morning. When I am most stressed, I just want to be around my friends who make me laugh, challenge my thinking and encourage my heart.

I hope you all have a wonderful Wednesday…in the time it has taken me to write this blog post, I am already DeStressed and ready for the day! Hope you are too:)

4 thoughts on “Thoughts…Time to DeStress

  1. Marie

    JUST what I needed to hear. AND don’t forget about Yoga! It’s helped me quite a bit because I carry my stress in my shoulders. Got to stretch it out!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Stop and Smell the Coffee… | UglySpot Studio

Leave a Comment

