Yummy Summy Recipes

We.are.knee-deep.in.boxes.

Moving is tough business and NOT for the faint of heart. As we are packing up, we are doing a major PURGE of things we haven’t touched, used or even thought about in a year. I totally forgot we had an amazing George Forman Grill/Griddle combo. We had our first yard sale this weekend and my thought on yard sales is…they are way more effort than they are worth.

We definitely made money but the most satisfying part was dropping the remaining items off at Goodwill and Habitat for Humanity…it was a true purging and it was exhaustingly beautiful.

Even though the majority of our house is now in boxes, I’m keeping our cooking stuff out until the last possible minute. I’ve started my summer of recipe experiments already and wanted to share some of the “keepers” I’ve come across so far:

Mediterranean Salad w/Chickpea Patties via Real Simple

This recipe from Real Simple is super easy to make IF you have a food processor. I tried to make it once before sans processor and it was REALLY messy. This time around, with my handy food chopper, it was super simple and really delicious!

Thai Spring Rolls via WrightFood

These are so great because there’s really no cooking involved and you can put whatever you like in them. You soak the rice wrapper in water for 10-15 seconds and then fill it with your choice of fillings…I’ve made them with julienned carrots, shredded purple cabbage, rice wine vinegar soaked cucumber slices, rice vermicelli noodles, basil and cilantro and voila! Dip it in a yummy hoisin sauce or my favorite…thai peanut sauce.

Basil Spaghetti w/Cheesy Broiled Tomatoes

This photo is actually from my cooking experiment this evening. The tomatoes and basil came from my own garden! So exciting and they were DELICIOUS! The recipe came from the June issue of Real Simple Magazine. I have this thing where I don’t like to read a magazine before the actual month of publication, so this weekend was the first time I cracked open the June issue and I LOVE it and the yummy recipes featured this month.

My next experiment this week is to try this Harmony Bowl from the delightful Jessie Mathis. My good friend, Kara, featured this recipe on her blog a couple days ago and I’ve wanted to try it ever since. I bought tempeh for the first time EVER and will give it a whirl this week, I’ll let you know how it goes.

What are you cooking up this summer??

Leave a Comment

