Snow Days

Living in the south, snow is a VERY rare occurrence. This year, 2014, Winter Storm Pax decided to descend on us and 2 days later, it is STILL snowing. We’ve got 10 inches so far and apart from the impending power outage, the shut-in status and the growing cabin fever…it is really beautiful.

Snow Day Pic

It’s pretty magical to look out of my window and see the wintery white landscape. Today, I’m slowly working through my Snow Day To-Do list.

Here’s what our snow day(s) have consisted of so far:

1. Play // Our beagle babies, Bella & Champ, have a love/hate relationship with the fluffy white stuff. Bella hates it, Champ loves it.

photo 41912138_10151914209315998_507359739_o

2. Read // I used to say I’m not much of a reader, but the truth is, I love to read. BUT I don’t just love to read, I love to binge read. When I start a book, I CANNOT stop…I MUST know how it ends. Knowing this about myself, I have to limit my book reading binges to 3-4 a year or else, I will ignore life around me. Yikers, sorry Jay;).

BookPhoto

3. Cook // Snow Days and weekends are when I actually get to take the time to explore recipes & new cooking techniques. I absolutely love to cook. In the last few years, I’ve had a growing passion for all things culinary.

When I’m cooking, I feel alive in a way I’ve never felt before. To take different ingredients & orchestrate them together – where each element sustains its own distinctive identity, yet perfectly combines & complements the others – and create a delicious, harmonious meal. If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook, you know this to be true by my constant food pic posting (sorry, not sorry). I am SUCH a beginner when it comes to food styling/photography, so I wouldn’t even dare qualify it as such just yet.

My recent food adventures: (my first ever) Perfectly Poached Eggs, Israeli CousCous, Curry Coconut Butternut Squash Soup from Orangette and Spinach, Andouille Sausage Strata

EggsPoachedEggs

CousCous PicIsraeliCousCous

SoupPhoto SpinachStrata

I’m so ready for warm weather and spring, but for today, I’m choosing to be present and appreciate these moments to do things I love to do – in the warmth of our home (which is something I’ll never take for granted on days like these when I know there are thousands of less fortunate) and to do it all with “my people”.

Today, my cup runneth over.

One thought on “Snow Days

Leave a Comment

